Whether you have food allergies or are simply interested in knowing where the food you eat comes from, food labels increasingly leave out the whole story. Take Peeps – squishy, brightly colored marshmallow treats. Gelatin shows up on the label, but not its source – pork – which could be a problem for those following a vegan, vegetarian, kosher, or halal diets.
This is far from the only case of 'hidden' ingredients, says
Even if a common food allergen is clearly listed, way down at the bottom of the ingredient list, you might miss it if you're not diligent about checking for them. Peanuts, for example, are found in hot sauces, pesto, salad dressings, gravy mixes, cookies, egg rolls, and dozens of other packaged foods. Legally, peanuts must be listed in the ingredient list of any food that contains even a trace of peanuts, but it might be way down at the bottom of a long list of ingredients with strange-sounding names.