Horizon Organic Milk is Safe.....

Posted on: Wed, 09/19/2001 - 10:15am
Starshadow's picture
Joined: 09/19/2001 - 09:00

Thought I would post this, after reading here on this site that some milk companies put nut and fish oils in their milk to add vitamins. This comes directly out of the Email they sent to me.

Thanks for contacting Horizon Organic. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. We would first like to apologize for the delay in getting back with you. In response to
your email, nut oil and fish oil are not added to our products.

The vitamin A added to our milks is kosher and does not contain any animal products or the milk could not be certified kosher. Vitamin A alone is very unstable so it is attached to a fatty acid, palmitate. The
palmitate is either derived from cottonseed oil or corn oil.

The form of vitamin D used in Horizon poducts is D3. It is originally extracted from lanoline. Although lanoline is obtained from sheep, Vitamin D3 is considered kosher because the sheep are not slaughtered
to obtain the wool from which the lanoline is extracted.

We hope this has been helpful and thanks for supporting organic.

Consumer Services

Obviously, if someone has allergies to the things they do use to add vitamins, I would not recommend drinking the milk. I say that because I have a friend who is allergic to lanolin and while I'm not sure if lanolin and lanoline are the same thing, I am definitely planning on calling her right away and letting her know.

Posted on: Mon, 10/01/2001 - 11:48pm
Heather2's picture
Joined: 09/25/2001 - 09:00

Thanks for that info. Horizon also owns The Organic Cow which is the milk that I buy. I don't like milk with growth hormones in it.

Posted on: Tue, 10/02/2001 - 11:11am
anonymous's picture
Joined: 05/28/2009 - 16:42

Starshadow --
Thanks for your efforts in contacting Horizon. We really enjoy using their juices, and use some of their dairy products as well. Beyond the issue of vitamin supplementation, I would be quite interested in knowing what they *feed* the cows. I know of at least one other organic milk producer that uses peanut products in their feed. (Picture in magazine article of farmer feeding the cows peanut ____? meal? shells?)
I know that the jury is out on whether or not the protein would pass through to the milk -- my personal point of information/reference on that is a very close friend who has her MS++ in bio., years of experience in farming and raising cattle, and extensive interest and experience in nutrition. Her position is that it absolutely *could*, and almost certainly *would*.
Having listened to my son's allergist *insist* that peanut protein could *not* be transmitted through human breastmilk...I retain a healthy skepticism for "absolutes", and prefer to act under the assumption that it *could* also be passed through cow milk as well. Even if I turn out to be wrong, little harm has been done -- we make sure we have a calcium adequate diet, and use goat's milk/ cheese for cooking.
For what it's worth -- M's very first reaction (mild hives) was to Horizon yogurt. We assumed that dairy was the problem -- yet his RAST score to cow milk was a "0". Interesting.
[This message has been edited by M'smom (edited October 02, 2001).]

Posted on: Thu, 12/13/2001 - 12:58am
Sue's picture
Joined: 02/13/1999 - 09:00

a while back I contacted Horizon and asked if they knew if their milk suppliers feed peanut products to the dairy cattle.
The response I received was something to the effect that they did not know if the cows were fed peanut products. The response also said that their isn't a test available to detect peanut protein/product in the milk.
They didn't offer to check out the suppliers on the peanut product issue.
Sue in Sunny Arizona

Posted on: Thu, 12/27/2001 - 6:44am
Sue's picture
Joined: 02/13/1999 - 09:00

I recently contacted Horizon again on the peanut product question and here is the answer I received:
Sue in Sunny Arizona
Subj: Message from Horizon Organic
Date: 12/26/2001 11:31:21 AM
From: [email]amandam@horizonorganic.com[/email]
Dear Sue:
Thank you for your recent inquiry into Horizon Organic(tm) . Our top priority at Horizon Organic Dairy is to ensure that we always provide you with the highest-quality organic products possible. We believe that organic agricultural practices result in foods that are not only tasty, safe, healthy and wholesome but that are produced without environmental pollution or resource degregation.
There are no peanuts or peanut products added directly to any of our products. Our eggnog contains nutmeg, however, nutmeg is obtained from the seeds of the tropical tree
species Myristica fragrans, thus it is safe for an individual with a peanut or tree nut allergy.
Horizon cows are let to feed ad libitum a diet containing a mixture of 100% certified organic alfalfa, barley, safflower, hay, corn, cottonseed, and soybeans to maximize intake, provide ideal nutrition and thus maximizing milk producing capability. No peanuts are fed to our cows.
We have not tested our products for the presence of peanut protein, however
we have no reason to believe that any of our products contain any peanuts or peanut products.
Your interest is of utmost importance to us, and we take your comments very seriously. Please visit the many pages of our website for great information about our products and
company. Thank you again for taking the time to contact us.
Consumer Services
[This message has been edited by Sue (edited December 27, 2001).]


Click on one of the categories below to see all forum topics.

Peanut Free Store

More Articles

It Is Easy To Buy Peanut Free Chocolate Online

Ask any parent of a child with a potentially life-...

Seeds, such as pumpkin or sunflower, make great peanut or tree nut substitutes in recipes, and roasted soy or garbanzo beans are tasty snacks and...

So many wonderful recipes call for peanut butter. These recipes can still be enjoyed by experimenting with peanut butter replacements.


Peanuts and peanut oil are cheap and easy additives to food and other commercial goods. It is surprising (and alarming if you have a...

Those with severe peanut allergies soon learn to look for the 'peanut-free sign' on any packaged food purchase. This is a notation found on a wide...