Vitamins

Posted on: Thu, 11/16/2006 - 9:17pm
BS312's picture
Offline
Joined: 09/05/2001 - 09:00

Dairy-allergic DD has been taking Safeway brand children's multivitamins forever. Recently a may contain milk statement appeared on the label. The only ingredient resembling milk in the ingredient list is lactose.

Two questions: Has the formulation changed or just the label? If lactose is the reason for the label change, does the product actually contain milk protein or is this just an example of the FDA not getting fine distinctions correct? For example, the FDA considers coconut a tree nut when most people do not. Maybe the FDA requires manufacturers to label products with lactose (a sugar, not a protein) as may contain milk when the lactose may not even be derived from milk.

I have a call in to Safeway and they are "checking" on this. Does anyone else have this same issue?

Forum

Click on one of the categories below to see all forum topics.

Peanut Free Store

More Articles

It Is Easy To Buy Peanut Free Chocolate Online

Ask any parent of a child with a potentially life-...

Seeds, such as pumpkin or sunflower, make great peanut or tree nut substitutes in recipes, and roasted soy or garbanzo beans are tasty snacks and...

So many wonderful recipes call for peanut butter. These recipes can still be enjoyed by experimenting with peanut butter replacements.

...

Peanuts and peanut oil are cheap and easy additives to food and other commercial goods. It is surprising (and alarming if you have a...

Those with severe peanut allergies soon learn to look for the 'peanut-free sign' on any packaged food purchase. This is a notation found on a wide...