Safe Vitamins?

Author:
Publish date:
Updated on

Does anyone have any suggetions on safe vitamins? I did a search and found some people saying that Flinstones were ok but I called them this mourning after purchasing some and a rep. from Bayer Corp stated that while the product did not intentionally contain any peanut ingrediants it was made in a facility that processed peanut containing items.... So now I have decided not to try these. Just wanted to see if anyone had found any safe options. Thanks

------------------

On Sep 8, 2006

We have used Poly-Vi-Sol (drops) and Li'l Critter Gummy Vites.

If you do a search on vitamins, I think there is a recent thread on this topic.

Cathy

------------------ Mom to 7 yr old PA/TNA daughter and 3 1/2 yr old son who is allergic to eggs.

On Sep 8, 2006

rhino gummy vitamins are definitely made in a nut-free facility. (i confirmed this again earlier this week when i bought new vitamins for my dd).

On Sep 8, 2006

in my area, lil critters have a "made in peanut facility" warning.

On Sep 8, 2006

Yes- out here, too.

Oddly enough, though, the [i]gummy[/i] Flintstones were okay... at least for pn, tn, and egg. Not dairy, fish, or soy, as I recall.

Several people here use the gumball vitamins-- I forget the brand.

On Sep 9, 2006

Hi, I called Jamieson's this week about the Aurthur and Calliou chewable mulitvitamin and received the response that both are safe for pa and tna people.

Cheers, Gilli

On Sep 9, 2006

I too have difficulty finding vitamins. We do us Swiss Children's Vitamins but they are hard to find. I have read the ingredients on other vitamins and I am just not happy with the EXTRA ingredients/preservatives that they put in the vitamin. Swiss Children's have no artifical colouring or preservatives but like I said are hard to find.

Pam

On Sep 9, 2006

you can order the rhino gummy vitamins on the company website: [url="http://www.nutritionnow.com"]www.nutritionnow.com[/url]

(don't order any of the "chews" though. they are made in a separate facility that does have nut products.)

On Sep 9, 2006

Quote:

Originally posted by shoshana18: [b]in my area, lil critters have a "made in peanut facility" warning.[/b]

That's very interesting...

The large jar (220 vitamins) I have from Costco has a "made in facility" warning for wheat (gluten) and milk.

It also says that the product contains no wheat (gluten), milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, soy, artificial colors, flavors or preservatives.

Cathy

On Sep 9, 2006

Quote:

Originally posted by Momcat: [b] That's very interesting...

The large jar (220 vitamins) I have from Costco has a "made in facility" warning for wheat (gluten) and milk.

It also says that the product contains no wheat (gluten), milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, soy, artificial colors, flavors or preservatives.

Cathy[/b]

i just don't trust that lil critters are safe. the label you have is inconsistent -- it says that it is made in a facility with milk, and then the next line says that it contains no milk. they shouldn't label that it contains NO milk if it's made in a facility with milk, in my opinion.

anyway, that's why i decided to go with the rhino vitamins.

On Sep 9, 2006

Thanks Everyone

On Sep 9, 2006

Anyone know about Costco chewables? They only say wheat and gluten free on the bottle.

I did see corn and orange in them.

------------------ Mom (asthma, allergic to cocoa beans, citrus, dairy) 5 year old peanut allergy/dairy allergy/asthma 8 year old dairy intollerant/asthma

On Sep 10, 2006

Quote:

Originally posted by shoshana18: [b] i just don't trust that lil critters are safe. the label you have is inconsistent -- it says that it is made in a facility with milk, and then the next line says that it contains no milk. they shouldn't label that it contains NO milk if it's made in a facility with milk, in my opinion.[/b]

Well, I should probably call to be sure, but when I read that label I was happy because to me it means that they are labelling well and if there were peanuts/nuts in the facility, that would have been on the label. The way I read it, "contains no milk" means that none of the ingredients contain milk.

Cathy

On Sep 10, 2006

The Lil Critter Gummy Vites we have say "made in same facility as wheat and milk", but they state on "separate equipment". That sounded good to me. So far so good...and ds does sometimes react to stuff on shared equipment with milk with hives.

Sounds like the labels can vary regionally huh? Meg

[This message has been edited by mommyofmatt (edited September 10, 2006).]

On Sep 15, 2006

Guys, my son is 2 1/2 (PA) and he has been eating Flinstones vitamins without a problem. Since he had been eating them before he was diagnosed with no problem, I never rechecked the ingredients :-(

Does that mean that I should stop giving hinm the Flinstones now that I know or does that mean since he takes them everyday that these dont affect him? opinions please...

On Sep 15, 2006

I use Yummi Bears by Hero Nutritionals for DD. [url="http://www.yummibears.com"]www.yummibears.com[/url]

They are free of peanuts. I did email them asking if peanuts shared the machine or not and this is the response:

"All of our products are completely allergen free, however, there may from time to time, be peanuts in the facility, but the lines are never cross contaminated."

For us, it has worked well!

On Sep 16, 2006

I take Materna vitamins (prenatal vitamins) because I am still breastfeeding. Are these safe for me to take with my PA? I never thought vitamins to be unsafe... This is sooo frustrating. I am so new to this....

On Sep 26, 2006

I just looked up Materna prenatal vitamins the Centrum brand and listed under facts they state that this product DOES NOT contain peanut oil. This makes me feel a lot better since my daughter is 5 months and nursing so I am still taking these.... it wouldn't contain traces of nuts or peanuts would it? I am sure they would say.... hahaha I am so freekin pariniod now!!

On Sep 26, 2006

We use Flintstones [img]http://uumor.pair.com/nutalle2/peanutallergy/smile.gif[/img]

Jason

------------------ [b]* Obsessed * [/b]

On Sep 26, 2006

I use flinestones too for my kiddies but Materna prenatal centrum brand for myself while nursing (but have since stopped when I heard some vitamins are safe) does anyne here know if they are safe??? I know for the website they do not use peanutoil... so does that make them safe?

On Sep 26, 2006

from the Yummi Bear website:

"Are the Yummi Bears products safe for children and adults with allergies?

Our products are produced in an allergen free room, however, Federal law requires that we state they are produced in a facility that also produces peanut products. HOWEVER, the products are NOT produced on the same line or in the same area. Although this statement has just recently appeared on our packages, NOTHING has changed in the way or place it's been manufactured. In other words, if your child has been taking the Yummi Bears supplements and has not had any adverse effects, you are fine to continue. If you have any questions, please call customer service at 1-800-500-HERO (4376)"

Related