rice dream

Author:
Publish date:
Updated on

just checking to see if anyone has current info on rice dream enriched (shelf stable). they list this as a peanut free product...just trying to confirm with all of you. thanks

On Apr 25, 2005

We've used this product with no side effects. But I have to admit, I never checked to see if it was peanut safe. I just worried about the non-dairy part.

------------------ [i][b]Peanut Slayer[/b][/i]

On Apr 25, 2005

I don`t know if it matters to you, but last I checked which was three years ago, it was on shared equipment with milk. My dd is milk allergic, so I won`t give it to her.

On Apr 25, 2005

carefulmom, the non-refrigerated is kosher parve -- meaning if it is on shared equipment, it is cleaned according to kosher standards, which i am ALWAYS comfortable with.

On Apr 25, 2005

to add something, the refrigerated versions are kosher dairy because they are on shared equipment -- not because there is any actual dairy in the product.

On Apr 25, 2005

We use it with no problems. My son and I are lactose intolerant, my daughter is not but I don't want her consuming cow's milk (too many hormones). She likes "Rice milk" as we call it much better than Soy beverage.

On Apr 25, 2005

Shoshana18, dd`s allergist who is Jewish (as I also am) told me that the cutoff used by the rabbi to certify it Kosher is higher than the amount it takes to cause an allergic reaction. FAAN told me that they get a lot of reports of allergic reactions from milk allergic people who think something is safe because of the Kosher parve sign. This was discussed at length three years ago when dd had a reaction to something on shared equipment. That is when I spoke with the people who make Rice Dream and found out that the equipment was shared. I know that it is only shared equipment and milk is not an ingredient. I was just pointing out that the equipment is shared, so those of us who are not comfortable giving something on shared equipment with milk due to milk allergy cannot give it.

On Apr 26, 2005

Thanks for the info, carefulmom. We don't use Rice Dream anymore. We were using it for my ds when we thought she had a DA. She doesn't. My DA son drinks Almond Breeze. We think it tastes much better. I have been going by the Parve or Pareve symbols and haven't any reactions.

On Apr 26, 2005

i think i am okay with peanuts and rice dream. and i know that i am okay with milk allergy and rice dream -- for those of you concerned with shared equipment, i once again reiterate that the kosher parve designation (in this case a U) indicates that there is not trace dairy. here is the state from OU Kosher who issues this particular designation:

"Allow us to state the OU

On Apr 27, 2005

Thanks. Good info to have.

On Apr 27, 2005

Why isn't there a religion out there that would mandate a separation of peanuts and meat?? sigh.... It would be so handy...

On Apr 27, 2005

I recently developed an intolerance to milk and then soy milk so I am now trying Rice Dream refrigerated. I am finding the same problem. I can have it once, maybe 4 ounces and if I try to have it another time in one day I get GAS something horrible. Same with milk and soy. All new, all horrible.

Considering RAST, anything to avoid a GI consult.

Peg

On Apr 28, 2005

well, darthcleo -- we can all eat "kosher for passover" foods. during passover, we not only don't eat leavened bread, but also legumes. which mean all passover foods are/should be free from peanuts. ah, if it were only passover all year... [img]http://uumor.pair.com/nutalle2/peanutallergy/smile.gif[/img]

On Jul 6, 2005

FAAN addressed this again in their recent newsletter, and pareve is NOT safe for milk allergic people. FAAN says "Under Jewish law, a food product may be considered pareve (containing neither meat nor dairy products) even if it contains a very small amouont of milk. For those who are allergic to milk, trace amounts may be enough to cause a reaction." This is on page 4 of the June/July Food Allergy News.

[This message has been edited by Carefulmom (edited July 06, 2005).]

On Jul 6, 2005

DS drank Rice Dream in the non-refridgerated carton daily for 5 years and never had a reaction.

I checked with Imagine Foods years ago before they were bought out by the current company and was told the non-refridgerated type was not made on dairy equipment.

On Jul 6, 2005

The nutritionist with Imagine told me about 3 years ago that all their products are on shared equipment (don`t recall if it was with milk or peanuts, since my dd is allergic to both). My dd also consumed their Rice Dream for years without a reaction. It really depends on how allergic the person is. Her cap rast to milk is only a class 2. Once I found out about the shared equipment I stopped giving any Imagine products, because our allergist said even if the amount of allergen is low enough so that she does not react, it postpones when they outgrow it. For the same reason I stopped giving the Silk soy milk when I found out it was on shared equipment with milk, even though she never had a reaction to it.

On Jul 6, 2005

carefulmom, once again, i respectfully disagree with you and, yes even FAAN. i posted above what the OU has stated regarding parve. the OU's symbol (and i reiterate OU, i don't know the other kosher designating company's viewpoints) is safe.

if you personally don't feel comfortable with it, that's one thing (and perfectly fine), but FAAN is not the last and only authority on everything.

On Jul 6, 2005

I agree "FAAN is not the last and only authority on everything".

On Jul 6, 2005

It was a board certified allergist who wrote the article that I quoted. So it is a little hard for me to believe that a board certified allergist would not know, since this is what he does all day long. I don`t agree with FAAN`s policies all the time, but it seems unlikely that they would print inaccurate information written by an allergist.

On Jul 6, 2005

i don't think his info is inaccurate -- i just KNOW that certain kosher designating organizations are superbly careful and have changed their stance on their parve, dairy, and dairy environment designations, while FAAN continues to put out the same line about the 2% thing over and over without trying to update their info. i have communicated with them several times on this and they always say they are looking into it. they obviously haven't had the time or inclination to research the various kosher designations thoroughly which is a shame for all of us with dairy-allergic children.

On Jul 6, 2005

Can you find me a reference where I can read that "Pareve" means zero dairy? I would really like to read something. If I don`t need to eliminate something from dd`s diet I would rather not, since with milk allergy they are so restricted anyhow, but with dd`s allergist who is Jewish and keeps Kosher, as well as the FAAN allergist, both saying pareve does not mean zero dairy, I would love to read a source that says pareve is zero dairy.

On Jul 6, 2005

carefulmom, i am not saying that parve means zero dairy. i am saying that the kosher method of cleaning to insure kosher parve status is so high (way higher than any standard most companies would use on their own).

everyone has their own comfort level. that being said -- i am amazed that anyone with a peanut allergic child allows them to eat in a restaurant period. my little girl hasn't nor will she. the risk that someone in the back of that restaurant screws up is WAY TOO HIGH for me. i'm pretty comfortable with the idea that the rabbis won't.

On Jul 6, 2005

Well, I just got the answer. I emailed the nation`s leading expert on food allergy, Dr. Hugh Sampson. Here is his response.

"Pareve products are not necessarily milk-free. We have had a number of patients react to pareve products.

Hugh Sampson"

Guess that tells me what I need to know.

On Jul 6, 2005

AGAIN.... i totally agree with dr. sampson. it DOES NOT guarantee that a product is milk-free.

i understand what you are saying. i just don't think you understand my viewpoint on the matter.

let's just agree to disagree and move on. everyone deals with their allergies and their children's allergies differently.

On Jul 6, 2005

You are right, I don`t. Ealier today when I quoted FAAN`s statement that a product which is pareve can contain a very small amount of milk which can cause a reaction, you said you disagree. But then when Dr. Sampson said the same thing, you said you agree with Dr. Sampson. So you are right, I don`t follow what you are saying. The whole reason I re-raised this thread is because on Arpil 26 you said "i once again reiterate that the kosher parve designation (in this case a U) indicates that there is not trace dairy.". But in fact, both FAAN and Dr. Sampson are saying that pareve can have trace dairy.

On Jul 6, 2005

if FAAN said, as you indicated, that "pareve is NOT safe for milk allergic people". i disagree with that black and white statement. it simply is not true.

i agree with dr. sampson that parve does not guarantee milk-free.

do you see that distinction???????

i think you can use the kosher designation as one of your screening criteria on foods for milk allergies though.

i don't rely totally on the designation. but it certainly makes me feel one step more comfortable because i have thoroughly researched what it takes for a company to get a kosher parve designation on a food product.

On Jul 6, 2005

What I quoted FAAN as saying is , "a food product may be considered pareve (containing neither meat nor dairy products) even if it contains a very small amouont of milk. For those who are allergic to milk, trace amounts may be enough to cause a reaction". If I knew how to italicize, I would---I`ll redo it, and put the words "may" in capitals, and then maybe it will be more clear (I am the one putting it in capitals, not FAAN).

"a food product MAY be considered pareve (containing neither meat nor dairy products) even if it contains a very small amouont of milk. For those who are allergic to milk, trace amounts MAY be enough to cause a reaction".

No one is saying ALL pareve products are unsafe. What FAAN, Dr. Sampson, and I are saying is it is unsafe to assume that when you see the word pareve that it means milk free, as it may not be milk free even with the pareve label.

This is in contradistinction to your post on April 26 saying "i once again reiterate that the kosher parve designation (in this case a U) indicates that there is not trace dairy." which is why I re-raised the thread, as I did not want people to have this misinformation.

[This message has been edited by Carefulmom (edited July 07, 2005).]

On Jul 7, 2005

FOR THE LAST TIME...IT IS NOT MISINFORMATION... according to the OU's corporate info -- they will mark a product kosher dairy if there is dairy equipment and a chance of contamination. IN OTHER WORDS, their parve designation is dairy-free PERIOD.

i don't think other kosher designation's are as stringent as OU (although i don't know this for sure -- just word of mouth). but, ONCE AGAIN, i feel perfectly comfortable with the information that i posted from OU.

On Jul 8, 2005

for everyone's information regarding this topic and possible low levels of contamination in food, everyone should check the post regarding the working papers on threshold levels.

i think using the fda's labeling or the kosher designation, or the like, is a GUIDELINE. the burden of research ultimately falls on all of us, calling companies, exchanging information, etc.

On Jul 8, 2005

Quote:

Originally posted by shoshana18: [b]FOR THE LAST TIME...IT IS NOT MISINFORMATION... according to the OU's corporate info -- they will mark a product kosher dairy if there is dairy equipment and a chance of contamination. IN OTHER WORDS, their parve designation is dairy-free PERIOD.

[/b]

According to Dr. Hugh Sampson, this IS misinformation, as parve does NOT mean zero dairy. You agreed with Dr. Sampson in your post on July 7 at 12:05 A. M. when you posted "i agree with dr. sampson that parve does not guarantee milk-free."

On Jul 8, 2005

Quote:

Originally posted by shoshana18: [b]

i agree with dr. sampson that parve does not guarantee milk-free.

[/b]

On Jul 8, 2005

once again, i am talking about OU specific. but like i said, check out the post on the threshold levels. you, my dear, will unfortunately find that it is the medical community's opinion that there is a low level of allergens in all commercial food.

On Jul 9, 2005

As a member of the medical community, that is definitely not true. For example, 8th continent soy milk has no dairy whatsoever. That is because it is not on shared equipment with any dairy. There are many foods that we members of the medical community find to be free of various allergens.

On Jul 10, 2005

look at the post i am refering to. and the conference i am refering to. it was a reference to that and that only.

On Jul 11, 2005

Umm...

I'm kinda lost here.

I don't know 'what' to say.

Sure, I want to get to the bottom of the pareve designation, and whether K-D or OU means 'whatever'...

But not this bad... sorry.

Jason

------------------ [b]* Obsessed * [/b]

On Jul 12, 2005

my sons drink is all the time and has had no problems.

------------------ Lalow James 3yrs, NKA Ben 2 yrs, PA and MA and SA

On Jul 12, 2005

We do use Rice Dream occasionally and haven't had a problem. I think, as with every other product, it is a comfort zone thing. I appreciate seeing all of the information that everyone has provided to help us all make the most informed decision.

------------------ Jodi mom to: Dominic 5/22/01 NKA Zachary 3/18/03 Peanuts, Dairy, Eggs & Penicillin

Related