53 posts / 0 new
Last post
Posted on: Sat, 07/22/2006 - 4:52am
Darkmage's picture
Offline
Joined: 10/01/2004 - 09:00

Thanks! I'll check into those.
------------------
[i][b]Allergy Eliminator [/b][/i]

Posted on: Sat, 07/22/2006 - 10:23pm
smudgesgarden's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/26/2006 - 09:00

Quote:Originally posted by shoshana18:
[b]in case of MFA, please remember that the benadryl fast melts have both soy and dairy in them...fyi.[/b]
------------
are the strips labeld? i would have never have thought to read that label for dairy..
and that just proves it, dairy is in everything!!!!
oh we use the liquid benadryll it works fast, but the bottle leaks a little so we keep it in a ziplock baggie, in the same emergency bag as the eppi pen and baby wipes.
oh mcCorbbre whats a "Nalgene vail"???

Posted on: Sun, 07/23/2006 - 11:49am
kandomom's picture
Offline
Joined: 01/12/2006 - 09:00

Nalgene is the hard plastic material that 'sport' water bottle are made from. It is a very durable plastic and containers made from Nalgene come in various sizes. Nalgene is either the name of the hard plastic and/or the company name that makes the bottles/containers. I've seen them in the sporting goods/camping section of the local store, but found better selection/variety at camping/sport stores.

Posted on: Thu, 08/03/2006 - 9:35am
Carefulmom's picture
Offline
Joined: 01/03/2002 - 09:00

Quote:Originally posted by shoshana18:
[b]in case of MFA, please remember that the benadryl fast melts have both soy and dairy in them...fyi.[/b]
I just checked at the pharmacy and read the entire box. There is absolutely no dairy, but there is soy protein isolate.

Posted on: Thu, 08/03/2006 - 9:49am
shoshana18's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/02/2005 - 09:00

Quote:Originally posted by Carefulmom:
[b] I just checked at the pharmacy and read the entire box. There is absolutely no dairy, but there is soy protein isolate.
[/b]
Lactitol is a disaccharide polyol that is derived from the natural milk sugar: lactose.
unless pfizer is using a non-dairy form of lactitol (is there one?), then i do believe this is a dairy product. i could be wrong, though.

Posted on: Thu, 08/03/2006 - 2:15pm
Carefulmom's picture
Offline
Joined: 01/03/2002 - 09:00

There may be a version with dairy, but there is definitely a non dairy form. Otherwise all those foods artificially sweetened with it would be listing "milk" in parentheses due to FALCPA. It is a sugar alcohol and is commonly used in low calorie foods. It can be made in a lab just like lactic acid or lactate. Hershey`s has quite a few low calorie foods with it, and they have been labeling for the top 8 before FALCPA required it. If it were milk derived, it would be on the label.

Posted on: Thu, 08/03/2006 - 2:38pm
shoshana18's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/02/2005 - 09:00

Quote:Originally posted by Carefulmom:
[b]There may be a version with dairy, but there is definitely a non dairy form. Otherwise all those foods artificially sweetened with it would be listing "milk" in parentheses due to FALCPA. It is a sugar alcohol and is commonly used in low calorie foods. It can be made in a lab just like lactic acid or lactate. Hershey`s has quite a few low calorie foods with it, and they have been labeling for the top 8 before FALCPA required it. If it were milk derived, it would be on the label.
[/b]
are you certain that this ISN'T dairy derived? it doesn't have to be labeled--it's a medication, not a food product.
and...all of the kosher websites i use as reference list the fastmelts as kosher dairy.

Posted on: Thu, 08/03/2006 - 10:46pm
Klutzi's picture
Offline
Joined: 03/10/2002 - 09:00

We carry both. We use the chewable when DD has a rash or hives & the liquid if the reaction seems a little worse.
DD prefers the chewables as I can slip it to her a little more privately (She's 6 & starting to be aware of what her friends think). Plus she likes the taste a lot better than the liquid.
Lea

Posted on: Fri, 08/04/2006 - 1:53am
Carefulmom's picture
Offline
Joined: 01/03/2002 - 09:00

Quote:Originally posted by shoshana18:
[b]
are you certain that this ISN'T dairy derived? it doesn't have to be labeled--it's a medication, not a food product.
and...all of the kosher websites i use as reference list the fastmelts as kosher dairy.[/b]
Yes, of course it does not have to list it as "milk" since it is on a medication, but my point was that the same ingredient is listed on many food items where it would be required to state "milk" and it does not. So clearly there is a non dairy version of lactitol. I emailed the company and will post when I hear back.

Posted on: Fri, 08/04/2006 - 2:27am
shoshana18's picture
Offline
Joined: 02/02/2005 - 09:00

Quote:Originally posted by Carefulmom:
[b] Yes, of course it does not have to list it as "milk" since it is on a medication, but my point was that the same ingredient is listed on many food items where it would be required to state "milk" and it does not. So clearly there is a non dairy version of lactitol. I emailed the company and will post when I hear back.
[/b]
carefulmom,
i wasn't trying to be confrontational -- i just didn't understand what you were saying about the labeling issue (didn't get that you were talking about the fact that it would be labeled on food products! my fault.)
however, i did confirm with pfizer today, spoke with a representative, that the fastmelts DO have dairy -- the lactitol is definitely dairy derived.
i wish they didn't; i would certainly be more convenient than the syrupy bottle in my purse!

Pages

Forum

Click on one of the categories below to see all forum topics.

Peanut Free Store

More Articles

Halloween can be treacherous for a child with a peanut allergy and a parent who is trying to stay...

What kid doesn't love dressing up in a costume and going door to door on Halloween night, and collecting a bag full of candy? Unfortunately, this...

Are you looking for peanut-free candies as a special treat for a child with...

For those with peanut allergies, baked goods present a serious risk. Many baked goods do not appear to contain peanuts, yet were baked in a...

Do you have a sweet tooth and more specifically a chocolate craving? Those with peanut allergies must...