Jolly Time Popping Corn

Author:
Publish date:
Updated on

Would like to note that Jolly Time Popcorn (The Yellow and Whitefor stove top or air popping)is: peanut/treenut/shellfish/gluten/sesame/ and dairy free! All of their products are free of wheat, rye, oats, and barley, however all of them do contain corn gluten (modified corn starch. Their microwave flavor providers assure them that they are gluten free.

Two microwave flavors- Crispy'n white and the light version of the same name are the only ones that contain sesame. They microwave varieties that have dairy carry the Universal "D" on the front of the carton. If you want more info. go to their web site and email or call. They have a fun site and a fun News letter for the kids.

Received a great letter and a coupon for a free bag. All of their products are safe and the only item with mention is the

On Mar 6, 2007

is this safe? my son would get a kick out of watching it grow. i use to love it!! do they label well?

On Mar 6, 2007

Yes- I have been loving it! I have gone through an entire bag---I air pop. I have not personally tried the microwave versions. I am always looking for a non sugar snack and I have been afraid of popcorn for three years! Orville Reddenbacher is from Con Agra and they would not give me a straight answer but, Jolly Time was wonderful! I felt very comfortable with their reply. Do try their website.

On Mar 6, 2007

the kind on the stove that pops up is safe?

On Mar 6, 2007

Watch out for the microwave varieties, though!! At least one [i]CONTAINS EGG INGREDIENTS.[/i] Just FYI.

But the Jolly Time regular bagged popcorn, DD and DH both love it. Hot air popped, misted with olive oil and salted beyond any potential health benefit. [img]http://uumor.pair.com/nutalle2/peanutallergy/biggrin.gif[/img]

On Mar 6, 2007

Not too long ago there was a microwave kind that had a peanut warning on it. Not sure if it still does or not.

On Mar 6, 2007

Tidina, I think you are thinking of [i]Jiffy[/i] Pop popcorn. The one you cook on top of the stove and it blows up like a ballon. I think its made by ConAgra.

On Mar 6, 2007

oh thank u!!

On Mar 13, 2007

I'm pretty sure Pop Weavers Microwave Bag kind has the peanut warning. We were using it and then it appeared. We use the Orville R. for now.

On Mar 13, 2007

Yes, I think you are correct, TinaM. We were initially stunned when we saw the warning and figured it [i]had[/i] to be CYA... KWIM?

We were also using the Kettle Corn variety.... at the same time, we couldn't figure out why almost every Th almost 10-12 [i]hours[/i] after her allergy shot, my DD was breaking into mild hives.

When the warning finally appeared, that answered a [i]whole lot[/i] of questions... we had been going to the movies many Th afternoons, where she was eating a bag of her own 'safe' popcorn. [img]http://uumor.pair.com/nutalle2/peanutallergy/rolleyes.gif[/img]

Hasn't happened since we switched to air-popped Orville's or PopSecret.

Just an anecdote for anyone who thinks that such labels are pure CYA and nobody needs them.

On May 27, 2007

Has anyone tried the Magic Mallow (marshmellow) kind? My kids love it and I'd love it if I could eat some, it smells SOOOOoo good.

On May 27, 2007

Jolly Time used to carry a warning on some of their products. Maybe they changed their manufacturing so that it's not in their facilities anymore.

On May 29, 2007

Here's my respone from Jolly Time:

Dear Megan: Thank you for your email. We are complying with the new govermentregulations that went into effect January 2006 and listing all ingredientsin our products. All JOLLY TIME Pop Corn is peanut and tree nut free, however, we do pack twoflavors (Crispy 'n White and Crispy 'n White Light Microwave Pop Corn) thatcontain sesame. All JOLLY TIME Pop Corn is gluten free from wheat, rye, oats and barley,however, all of our products do contain corn gluten (modified corn starch).Our microwave flavor providers have also assured us that our flavorings aregluten free. The "D" on the front of our microwave carton is the universal sign fordairy. All JOLLY TIME Microwave Pop Corn flavors do contain some flavoringingredients that are derived from a dairy source, typically butter andcheese. The dairy ingredients comprise a very small percentage of thefinished product, usually less than 1/4 of 1%. I would also like to pointout that all of our microwave products are manufactured on the sameequipment so there may be traces of "casein" remaining. Our white and yellow poly bag pop corn (for stovetop popping or in an airpopper) is free of gluten, peanuts and tree nuts, sesame and dairy. Thisproduct is packed in a separate building from our microwave products. If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact us. Thanks for thinking of JOLLY TIME! Keep poppin'Judy at JOLLY TIME

On May 30, 2007

Well THAT's good! They must have eliminated whatever peanut product that they used before.

Related