Fleischmann\'s Margarine - Peanut Allergy Information

Fleischmann\'s Margarine

Publish date:

I can't find my post so we'll see if this one makes it...Hello. We have been told that Fleischmann's margarine is safe from peanut product. This evening we made a cake with the product and our daughter had a reaction on her face which lasted a few hours. That is typical for her when she comes across peanut by contact with the skin. Has anyone used this product safely? It appears there are several types of ingredients that we thought were safe such as vegetable mono and diglycerides however we now suspect the "vegetable" part of that may be peanut? Thanks for your help.

On Dec 18, 2001

My 2 1/2 year old daughter is allergic to peanuts, eggs and until recently dairy. We've used unsalted Fleishmann's for the past two years without one problem.

On Dec 18, 2001

Is your child allergic to dairy? Fleischmann's has had a couple of recalls lately, because another product ended up in their unsalted margarine packages. Check with [url="http://www.FAAN.org"]www.FAAN.org[/url] for details. If your child is allergic to milk, this could be your answer.

On Dec 18, 2001

Thank you both. Yes, Callie is allergic to dairy, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, wheat and the list goes on...

I talked to a reprsentative at FAAN just before I tried the product, and also called Fleischmanns to make sure. They both told me the the unsalted margarine should be safe for her and no mention of recalls. I'm a member of FAAN too and didn't get anything. That concerns me. I will definately contact them in the morning. Thanks so much!


On Dec 18, 2001

> --=| FOOD ALLERGY & ANAPHYLAXIS NETWORK SPECIAL FOOD ALLERGY ALERT NOTICE > > |=-- > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > MILK ALLERGY ALERT > > > September 21, 2001 > > > > > > ConAgra Dairy Foods is voluntarily recalling certain packages of > > > Fleischmann's Unsalted Stick Margarine as it may contain undeclared milk. > > > The product may actually be Fleischmann's Original Stick Margarine that > > > contains whey. > > > > > > The product can be easily identified by the inner wrap on the individual > > > sticks that reads "Fleischmann's Original Margarine," instead of Unsalted. > > > There is also a "best if used by" date on the carton of JAN 31 02 O N. > > > > > > The product was distributed in Alabama, Connecticut, Georgia, Kentucky, > > > Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New > > > Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, > > > Virginia, and West Virginia. > > > > > > Consumers may return the above-coded product to the place of purchase for > > a > > > full refund. Consumers with questions may call (800) 257-5594. > MILK ALLERGY ALERT > October 15, 2001 > > ConAgra Dairy Foods is voluntarily recalling 3,600 pounds of Fleischmann's > Unsalted Stick Margarine with the UPC Code 298370 because it may contain > undeclared milk. The product can be identified with the "best if used by" > date on the carton of APR 15 02 EN 15 with time codes between 06:30 and > 08:00. > > The product was distributed in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, > and Pennsylvania. > > Consumers with questions may call (800) 257-5594. > These are copies of emails that I received from FAAN in September and October. I don't know about you, but I buy my allergy free margarine in bulk, so it is quite possible that you may just now be getting to the product that you bought back in September or October. Margaret

On Dec 19, 2001

I actually buy the tub margarine (2 tubs per pack) and have not tried the stick. And it's the second tub I bought that my daughter tried..just bought it about 3 weeks ago. Maybe she is sensitive to the soy oil even though most people can tolerate it. My daughter is seeing a new allergist tomorrow so I'll talk to him. Thanks again for the information.

On Dec 19, 2001

Your welcome. I wish I could have had the answer to your mystery. Good luck at the doc. Margaret

On Oct 9, 2003

Has anyone recently contacted them regarding their margarine?

What brand of margarine do you feel safe?



On Oct 10, 2003

I have not contacted them recently but am still using their light version--both tub and stick--without problems.

On Oct 10, 2003

I have been using Willow Run Sticks. They are made by Shedd's. Only some grocery stores seem to carry it.

On Oct 10, 2003

I recently contacted Fleischman's, who is owned by ConAgra, and received a less than favorable reply. They stated that there was no guarantee that products would not be cross contaminated with soy. Our dd has a multitude of food allergies, and reacted to a supposed soy free margarine. Their margarine is peanut/tree nut free though. They definitely need to improve their labeling.

On Oct 10, 2003

Megan is allergic to dairy and soy (and other things as well). We use Fleischmann's light margarine (2 tubs to a pack--yellow tub with blue lid). This is dairy-free and for the most part, soy-free. It contains mono or di-glycerides, which I have heard are derived from soy. Megan has no reaction to it, but I understand those extremely sensitive might react..... I know most people with soy allergy are 'supposed' to be okay with soybean oil and soy lecithin, but Megan reacts slightly to both of these (but is okay with the mono-di-glycerides).

Don't you just hate those 'mystery' reactions?? I hope you find your answer!

[This message has been edited by megans mommy (edited October 10, 2003).]